Middle School News

Keyword(s): 
Date: 
   
RSS Feeds
Posted Thursday, Nov 30, 2017 11:53:04 AM
On Tuesday, November 28, the 8th grade class of Carolina Day School took a trip to the Pisgah Astronomical Research Institute as an extension of the astronomy unit they are doing in the classroom.
Posted Wednesday, Nov 29, 2017 9:16:08 AM
Posted Monday, Nov 13, 2017 11:36:05 AM
Carolina Day is expanding its existing school-wide partnership with Asheville Area Habitat for Humanity to raise funds for global Habitat initiatives, which include assisting hurricane-devastated communities in their efforts to rebuild.
Posted Wednesday, Nov 8, 2017 2:45:08 PM
Carolina Day is expanding its existing school-wide partnership with Asheville Area Habitat for Humanity to raise funds for global Habitat initiatives, which include assisting hurricane-devastated communities in their efforts to rebuild.
Posted Friday, Oct 27, 2017 4:05:46 PM
Posted Friday, Oct 13, 2017 11:46:15 AM
Posted Thursday, Oct 12, 2017 9:27:00 AM
Posted Wednesday, Sep 27, 2017 2:36:22 PM
CDS invites the community to participate in this year's annual Golf Tournament, which brings alumni, current families, teachers, local business partners, and friends from the community together for a fun fall outing.
Posted Friday, Sep 8, 2017 2:17:00 PM
The Parent/Student Portal under MY CDS is your source for a wealth of information parents will need throughout the school year.
Posted Thursday, Aug 31, 2017 1:23:02 PM
Proceeds from "Door 1345 Speakeasy," our 2017 auction event, and from generous bids on Door 1345 auction items had a profound impact on our classrooms and athletic center.
Posted Thursday, Aug 31, 2017 11:44:11 AM
On Friday, August 25, nationally acclaimed hiker, Jennifer Pharr Davis, gave an inspirational talk to CDS students in middle and lower school about her legendary record-breaking hike on the Appalachian Trail. Her visit to CDS kicked off a new school-wide initiative of outdoor exploration.
Posted Thursday, May 18, 2017 9:09:00 AM
Shop for gently used CDS uniforms, athletic wear, PE shoes, CDS outerwear, and costumes. All proceeds go to the CDS Parent Association.
Posted Monday, Apr 24, 2017 8:37:30 AM
Carolina Day students celebrated Earth Week with special sustainable activities.
Posted Thursday, Feb 23, 2017 3:31:28 PM
Using the C-ROADs World Climate simulation designed by Climate Interactive, eighth-graders are culminating their cross curricular unit on global issues by conducting a climate summit simulation.
Posted Monday, Feb 13, 2017 1:18:12 PM
As an annual tradition for more than a decade, Carolina Day Middle School students create a family history project, which they then present to family members, their peers, and faculty at a special gathering at school.
Posted Tuesday, Feb 7, 2017 2:07:00 PM
Congratulations to our Middle School Scholastic Writing Award winners!
Posted Wednesday, Jan 18, 2017 1:04:08 PM
Eighth grade science students have been researching conditions on Mars and working to understand the challenges that humans would face in trying to develop a colony on Mars.
Posted Thursday, Jan 12, 2017 2:27:00 PM
Congratulations to the following students for being recognized in the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards.
Posted Thursday, Jan 12, 2017 11:04:00 AM
The theme this year is based one of Dr. King's famous quotes, "Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere."
Posted Thursday, Nov 3, 2016 9:28:57 AM
CDS Middle School students, parents, and faculty gathered for the Grade 6 Poetry Cafe presentations, which are a culmination of their work within the poetry unit.
Posted Wednesday, Oct 5, 2016 10:29:00 AM
Carolina Day School invites area parents, schools, students (grades 5-12), and teachers to a free community forum on the effects of screentime on the human brain, featuring a large-screen showing and discussion of the film, "Screenagers," led by Dr. Beth Vo, Asheville pediatric physician.
Posted Tuesday, Sep 20, 2016 10:14:43 AM
Middle School's cooking Xpedition group is learning how to bake.
Posted Thursday, Sep 1, 2016 11:06:00 AM
The Middle Schools experienced outdoor learning, community building, and lots of adventure on their overnight trip to Camp Merri-Mac/Timberlake!
Posted Thursday, Aug 25, 2016 10:59:00 AM
Our Wildcats returned to campus to kick-off the 2016-17 school year.
Posted Wednesday, Aug 17, 2016 9:56:00 AM
Jeremy Braketa is a Grade 8 Humanities teacher. He describes his classroom as student-centered, where everyone can feel relaxed and free to express themselves, and proud of what they are able to accomplish.
Posted Monday, Aug 8, 2016 1:15:00 PM
Jeff Kalil joins Carolina Day School as the new Middle School Principal. He says he's delighted to join the Wildcat community beginning this fall.
Posted Thursday, Mar 31, 2016 8:13:00 AM
Carolina Day School student artists are featured in the Asheville Regional Airport's new Student Artwork Showcase exhibit space through May 1.
Posted Tuesday, Mar 29, 2016 2:39:00 PM
CDS eighth-graders are harnessing the power of the sun to cook hot dogs with solar cookers. It's the culminating project after the students' study of energy where they are putting design and engineering to work.
Posted Tuesday, Mar 15, 2016 1:20:00 PM
Kinobe, a multi-instrumentalist, vocalist and composer, performed music from Uganda for all four divisions, faculty, and staff.
Posted Thursday, Feb 18, 2016 9:10:00 AM
Carolina Day School eighth-grader Peyton Jenkins organized a partnership with the organization Charity Ball, a soccer charity that provides new, quality soccer balls to kids in poverty-stricken communities around the world. She reflects on the life-changing experience.
Posted Monday, Feb 15, 2016 1:36:00 PM
Carolina Day School Kindergarten through seventh grade students got a glimpse into what it's like to be an astronaut with NASA engineer Shane McFarland.
Posted Monday, Feb 15, 2016 12:55:00 PM
Ms. Ogle, Ms. Cochrane, and their Brother Wolf Xpedition team of sixth and seventh graders are a huge help to the animal shelter.
Posted Monday, Feb 8, 2016 3:25:00 PM
Ms. Ogle, Mrs. Heskamp, and 10 Middle School Spanish students went on a service-learning tour through Peru. The group worked alongside residents of a village in the Sacred Valley of the Andean Highlands to help build a workshop for artisans. They also donated soccer balls to children of the village.
Posted Thursday, Feb 4, 2016 2:12:00 PM
Seventh-graders in Mr. McManus and Mr. Belcher's class are building and programming electric carts.
Posted Thursday, Feb 4, 2016 11:59:00 AM
Carolina Day School's Gold Key, Silver Key, and Honorable Mention Award Recipients for the 2016 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards for Southeast Writing Region-At-Large.
Posted Tuesday, Feb 2, 2016 9:31:00 AM
Eighth grade French students are on a historical, cultural, and language trip to Quebec. The goal is to create cultural understanding and more familiarity with the French language.
Posted Tuesday, Jan 26, 2016 2:11:00 PM
Posted Tuesday, Jan 19, 2016 8:56:00 AM
Posted Wednesday, Jan 13, 2016 1:14:00 PM
Poet, teaching artist, and activist Glenis Redmond performed for Middle, Key Middle, and Upper Schools students as part of Carolina Day School's Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day activities.
Posted Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 2:05:00 PM
Middle school sixth, seventh, and eighth grade French students feasted on traditional French cuisine prepared entirely by the students.
Posted Thursday, Nov 12, 2015 9:19:00 AM
Middle School students, parents, and faculty gathered for the Grade 6 Poetry Cafe presentations, which are a culmination of their work within the poetry unit. More than 50 were in the audience as our Grade 6 students read their poems before the group.
Posted Tuesday, Oct 27, 2015 2:03:00 PM
In a recent classroom event, Carolina Day School's eighth-grade global studies students discussed the relationship between Islam, Christianity, and Judaism in historical context and with regard to current events in the Middle East.
Posted Thursday, Oct 1, 2015 2:14:00 PM
Posted Monday, Sep 21, 2015 11:29:00 AM
It's International Peace Day, and the Middle School World Changers Club has been hard at work painting peace poles and pallets with inspirational messages and placing them around campus.
Posted Tuesday, Jun 30, 2015 1:29:00 PM
powered by finalsite