News for CDS Student-Athletes and Parents
Fall 2017

Dear Everyone,

We had an outstanding 2016-17 season of play which culminated in our work being recognized by the North Carolina Independent School Athletic Association, our governing body,  who awarded the CDS athletic program the prestigious Wells Fargo Cup for the 2016-17 season. The Wells Fargo Cup recognizes the top athletic programs for public and independent high schools across the state of North Carolina - CDS was identified as the top athletic program for independent high schools in the 2A classification. Congratulations to our entire community!

While we celebrate the accomplishments of the past, we turn our attention to the future. We hope the following information proves helpful as we prepare for the Fall 2017 competitive season. Enclosed you will find the following:

  • Fall 2017 athletic start dates and locations/coach contact emails

  • Sports Medicine Information/Required Participation Forms

  • Number of players and eligible grades for each sport

  • Team store links for all student-athletes


Game schedules are in the process of being posted and can be found on our CDS website.  Please fill out the Sports Sign-up Sheet if you have not already done so to let us know which sport you or your child will be playing in the fall.

Please also be reminded of our Parent Orientation meeting which is scheduled for August 22nd at 530p - we will hold this meeting in the Upper School.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me or any member of the athletic department.

Sincerely,

Steve Henry
Director of Athletics
shenry@carolinaday.org

Fall 2017 Start Dates**

 

Sport

Start Date

Start Location

Start/End Time**

Varsity Soccer

August 1

Sgro Complex

9:00-10:30 am &    5:00 - 6:30pm

Varsity Field Hockey

August 1

Sgro Complex

9:00-10:30 am

Varsity Tennis

July 31

Asheville Racquet Club South

3:30 - 5:00 pm

Varsity Cross Country

August 7

CDS Baseball Field

9:00 - 10:00 am

Varsity Volleyball

August 1

Nash Athletic Center

2:30 - 5:00 pm

JV Volleyball

August 1

Nash Athletic Center

2:30 - 5:00 pm

JV Soccer

August 1

Sgro Complex

9:00 - 10:30 am & 5:00-6:30 pm

JV Field Hockey

August 7

Sgro Complex

10:00 - 11:30 am

MS Soccer

August 24

CDS Campus Field

4:00 - 5:00 pm

MS Volleyball

August 28

Nash Athletic Center

3:45 - 4:45 pm

MS Cross Country

August 24

Nash Lobby

3:45 - 5:00 pm

**These are the first day only times.  Coaches will have a practice calendar for the entire season available on the first day. Complete schedules will also be available online on the specific team page once they have been established.

If you have a question about the upcoming season, please feel free to reach out to the athletic department or the appropriate coach listed below.

Boys Soccer   Varsity: Anthony Brenner coach.anthony.brenner@carolinaday.org

Varsity: Margot Moses mmoses@carolinaday.org

JV: Kyle Stewart coach.kyle.stewart@carolinaday.org

MS: Didier Rubio coach.didier.rubio@carolinaday.org

Field Hockey   JV/V: Jake Southern jsouthern@carolinaday.org

JV/V: Prudence Munkittrick pmunkittrick@carolinaday.org

Volleyball MS/JV/V: Kristin Peppel coach.kristin.peppel@carolinaday.org

Girls Tennis V: Bill Barbour bbarbour@charter.net

Cross Country V: Mark Driscoll mdriscoll@carolinaday.org

V: Brian Rannie brannie@carolinaday.org

MS: Jodi Antinori jantinori@carolinaday.org

 

Team Stores/Travel Gear
Fall 2017


We are pleased to renew our relationship with Adidas for 2017-18. This relationship provides significant access to quality products for the department and all Carolina Day School student-athletes. Please know all of the products offered meet Carolina Day School divisional dress code requirements.

Team Stores will close on August 6th to ensure ordered pieces arrive in a timely and appropriate manner. Team shops will also open again in late August for a very brief time.

Please call or email Steve Henry if you have any questions.


Field Hockey

Soccer

Tennis

Cross Country

Volleyball


powered by finalsite